nid

week note #1

Here I am already late in posting the first week's note. But, I think I will stick to Mondays. Sundays are family time, and finding time for myself can be tricky.

Last week, hm.

It started with my birthday, which I was being very adult about for the first time in my life. No expectations, no getting sad when those, potentially unreal, expectations aren't met.

The day started quite well. I woke up early and had lots of chai while I talked to family and friends. Some friends I hadn't talked to in years. That is what birthdays are an excuse for, catching up with people.

But then disaster struck at around 1pm and I developed a high fever. 101F. The rest of the day was kitallis taking very good care of me while I crept in and out of feverish dreams.

Tuesday was more shivering and sweating.

The sun began to shine again on Wednesday and I was able to move around a little and even go for a walk in the evening.

We went out looking for our apartment dog, Goldie, who had been missing for a couple days by that point. Unfortunately, she was nowhere to be found.

Goldie (or doggo as we call her) had been a part of our lives since we moved into this house four and a half years ago. She would greet us tail-wagging, running to us every time we go in and out of the apartment building. We fed her almost daily, and she had her own special bowl that we had bought from the pet store (had to buy a few since it kept getting stolen). We had tried to make her comfortable by making her a seat under the tree in front of the apartment by filling some old pillows into a gunny sack and sewing it up. It is still there waiting for doggo to come back. kitallis would run out every time it rained hard to ensure doggo had shelter somewhere, sometimes in our basement parking and sometimes in the house in front of our building where she used to sit during rains. We recently found out that an old lady used to live in that house and fed doggo regularly some 11 years ago. We understand now her attachment to that house.

camphoto_959030623.jpg

I miss doggo. She brought nothing but joy to us. I hope she is in peace wherever she is.

On Thursday, I attempted to go to the gym after my fever break. It was hard. My body was weak and I could barely finish the sets.

I made rotis on Friday which I plan on doing more and more so I can practice my roti-making skills. They came out decent, need to make the dough softer still so the rotis don't crisp up.

Nothing else interesting happened during this week. I am still eagerly waiting for our house renovations to finish so I can enjoy my break from employment better.

What I read: