nid

week note #2

Last week had its ups and downs, mostly downs.

Some ups:

I went to the timber yard to pick out some teak for our office bathroom vanity unit. This was a new experience.

I could survive one full hour of conditioning at the gym and even enjoyed it.

My roti-making is coming along nicely.

On kitallis's recommendation, I started reading The Imposter's Handbook.

I got to meet abnv's baby, a whole new person he and arpita created. She is quite grumpy at the aspect of being born at the moment, but that is to be expected. Who wants to leave comfort of non-existence to face the brutality of the real world.

After reading a short story by Geetanjali Shree, I am quite excited about reading Ret Samadhi.

Downs:

Lots of menstrual cramps. Ended up missing the last day of the gym due to that. Aiming to do Mon, Wed, and Fri.

Mood-wise, this week has been a drag. Lots of restlessness, lots of anxiety about the future. Even though I am actively avoiding thinking about the next job, I can't help but read about the recession-like environment forming around the world. What if I can't get a job in Japan.

On Saturday, while drilling in the bathroom wall to make a soap alcove, the workers drilled all the way through to the kitchen tiles. And now, I have a window in my kitchen that looks into the bathroom. This means more work, more time, and more money to fix the new problem created. I am counting the minutes till this little renovation project is over and I will never have to look at tiles, concrete, and paint again for the foreseeable future.

IMG_0478.jpg

I received my JLPT test voucher which is making me panic about the test which will happen in December.

I also have to think about what to wear for this wedding I am going to in December, which is quite anxiety-inducing for me.

Get a grip, nid.

I have to start prepping for my JLPT test, stop thinking about a job right now and focus on doing the things I said I would during my break – translate this Hindi recipe book for kit's mom, read more about Computer Science and watch lots of movies.

My dad has made me a list of art movies from the 70s and 80s that I have to watch including works of Shyam Benegal, Govind Nihalani, Sai Paranjpe. I have them queued up on Mubi.

Currently Reading:

Movies I watched:

  • Ankur, 1974, Shyam Benegal